“Third Floor Heaven”

How many of us have had to start over in life? Difficult but exhilirating!  Enjoy!

“Third Floor Heaven”

We all have a choice,

Between the first, second and third floor.

Signing a name I no longer use.

A pen on fire, branding the beginning of my single life.

Coming from the BOTTOM of a matrimonial pit of Hell

The thought of being at the TOP

Sounded kinda heavenly and drew me in.

You know, a sense of newfound independence,

symbolic and unwavering, coming into my new self.

Okay, okay……

Or maybe just the damn honest truth.

If you rent  apartments on the top floor,

You get a discount and pay less.

And no fool will wanna break into your apartment

From the third floor.…. Right?

You don’t have to hear your damn neighbors

Running around, getting it on and dropping heavy shit

On the floor above you.

And the view above the trees

Watching the Fourth of July Fireworks

From the third floor

Is gonna be the shit!

Sitting with a glass of red wine

On my balcony, listening to my windchimes

Thinking back six months ago on that day

I laugh.…..  

Bare feet propped up on a table,

I like the new muscles that have formed on my legs

from climbing three floors up every day.

And I’m glad for the fact,

That on Saturday nights,

Coming home at 4:00 am

After drinking too much,

I haven’t fallen on my ass

All the way down.

Now, who wants to go inside?

Run around, get it on and drop some heavy shit

On the floor?

……. Third Floor Heaven.

Leave a Reply

