“For My Daughters”

How I want to protect you.  How I see the storm approaching and have to make split and painful decisions, whether or not to hold back the river for you allowing you to float through on the life jacket of joy and child-like innocence and peace.  Or let you slam right into it viciously, drowning in disbelief and shock.  And as you struggle and eventually float to the top of the other side of the river, I will be standing there waiting for you.  You both ask, “Mom, how are you so strong?”. Through my weathered eyes, wrinkles at the corners, I gleam at them and say “My Mother was on the other side of the river”. I love you.

Leave a Reply

